Blessed- The Chronicle of the Beast

I haven’t been submerged in water since I was seven. Even when it came time to take a shower, I would be terrified that whatever water that made its way from the shower head to the bottom of the tub, would find its way to cover my mouth and nose, effectively drowning me in only but a few inches of water.

Kaida too, I could feel, had a slight disdain for water; fearing that somehow it would drag us to the bottom of the pool, forcing us to look in each other’s eyes as our lungs fill up with water.

And that’s why I showed so much disinterest when Wolf asked me to bathe in the river before we left.

“It’s our holy river.” Wolf had said, already half submerged under the water. “Death had to ride up it on a raft to, fighting the current, so he could convince Piton to join his tournament, ever since the river has been calm and at peace.”

“So?” I asked. “I really don’t feel comfortable doing this”

“It’s supposed to make us calm and at peace any time we leave.” She answered persistently. “It’s what blesses us in battle. It’s like we have Death by our sides.”

“Do I have to?” I asked.

“Come on man, it’s alright to do it.” Peter chimed in as he slowly walked into the river.

“Please?” Wolf asked, her green eyes shining from underneath the pelt. “For me?”

“If it means that much to you.” I said hesitatingly.

I walked slowly into the river and joined Wolf, Peter, and another militiamen, Michael; and yet as soon as my feet touched water, I felt as if I were the only one in it.

My troubles seemed to wash away- my anger and resentment for Nicolai, my nervousness to bring Kaida back, and even my fears of drowning.

Almost immediately as I went under water, I felt like I was being hugged by the water- as if it were alive and happy to see me. And yet, for it feeling alive, it felt almost overwhelmingly and innately familiar, as if it were a being I’ve known for a lifetime. It felt like I was at home.

And I felt blessed.

And this blessedness continued as we walked back to the tribe and even as we walked to the edge of the water to where the ladder is, walking past what was once charred and ashy plants but is now bright and flourishing fauna. And even now, as we all shuffle up the ladder- I still feel like I’m home.

 

You can order this book in print or digital by going here!

Leave a comment